by Jethro Easyfields

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

      $9 USD  or more




When Jethro Easyfields and the Arrowheads hunkered down south of Indianapolis, it only stood to reason that the juxtaposition of country and city would rub off on the recorded results. Sure enough, a heady blend of country, blues, folk, roots-rock and even a little bit of punk makes this latest release, Elixir, go down easy. In the iPod age it’s one thing to enjoy a song or two, but to have the necessary attention span to take in an entire album in one sitting requires a little something special from the artist. Easyfields and company pull it off here, throwing enough variety into the album to keep you listening.

That said, Elixir is a very cohesive collection of songs. The record kicks off on a high-stepping, straightforward note with “Howlin’ Mad.” Here a sprightly harmonica dances around a classic three-chord verse, while Easyfields propels the song with his roots rock-ready vocals. It’s followed by the slightly more measured, Stones-y “I Shall Win” which maintains the album’s momentum. The country-fried rock/boogie bug bites on “Slow Delivery,” a sure-fire barroom brawler of a tune. Bluesier elements come to the fore in “Sunup Sundown” which benefits from its sparse, acoustic-based instrumentation and focus on the vocals. The warm, front porch acoustic vibe Jethro and company bring to “Full as a Catalog” (dig those hippie-cowboy “whoo-hoos”) make this low-key number a bit of a departure — and a highlight.

Elixir ends on a slide-fueled slow burner with a spoken-word narrative, “Deer in the Cemetery.” This tune delivers a twist on the usual end-of-album wind-down: it’s spooky, fascinating and funny. I don’t want to spoil the plot, but it involves Easyfields watching a deer in the cemetery (natch) while he (Easyfields, not the deer) gets “drunk with the dead.” The entire effort is well recorded and lives up to repeated listens. Taste this Elixir for yourself; you might not feel better in the morning, but at least you’ll know you experienced something worthwhile. (D.M. Jones)


released January 2, 2009

Jethro Easyfields and the Arrowheads

Jethro Easyfields - vocals, acoustic guitar, harmonica, keyboards
Scott Kern - acoustic & eletric guitar, banjo and backing vocal
Dave Dubrava - drums
Cory Davies - eletric & upright bass
Matt Stokes - piano & organ

Guest Arrowheads...
Simeon Pillar - backing vocals
Anthoney Scroggins - backing vocals
John Wayne Pastor - backing vocals
Coot Crabtree - vocals on "Howlin' Mad" & "Slow Delivery"
Kary Dangler - backing vocals
Brent Nichols - voice on "Suffer"

Produced by Scott Kern & Jethro Easyfields

All songs written by J.Easyfeilds 'cept
"I Shall Win" - J.Easyfields / S.Pillar
"Jesse" "You and Yer Boy" "Catalog" "Deer..."
J.Easyfields / O.Neighbours

My Shadow Records 2009
My Memory Songs Copyright 2008
"Sunup" - Through the Rough Songs Copyright 1993

Elixir Bottle Label - Shelby Kelley



all rights reserved


Jethro Easyfields Indianapolis, Indiana

Easyfields style blends a variety of genres, many of them collectively forming what has become known as American Roots music, that is, distinctly American musical genres like country, bluegrass, and blues. Whether performing solo or with a band, Easyfields culls his sound from all of the above, at times throwing in some rock and even punk leanings to keep the brew interesting. ... more

contact / help

Contact Jethro Easyfields

Streaming and
Download help